Baltic Energy Areas – A Planning Perspective (BEA-APP)

Project programme
01.03.2016 - 28.02.2019
Project status
Project table
Project website
Database link
BEA-APP project logo thumbnail

In the project “Baltic Energy Areas – A Planning Perspective” (BEA-APP) 11 partners from eight countries around the Baltic Sea cooperate to support the transition towards low-carbon energy systems.


EU and national policies call for an increase in the share of renewable energy in energy consumption. The Baltic Sea Region is a frontrunner in this respect. Many regions, including the ones of the BEA-APP project, have set very ambitious targets on renewable energy use.

To meet these goals, suitable areas for renewable energy installations such as wind parks, bio-energy units or solar panels need to be available. Spatial planners are tasked with making such space available. At the same time, they need to strike a balance between spatial claims for renewable energy with competing aims and land uses (e.g. nature protection, cultural landscapes, agriculture, tourism).

This job is a challenge in itself. Moreover, spatial planners lack the appropriate spatial planning instruments. Apart from that, they often face local resistance when designating areas for renewable energy production.


BEA-APP brings together two perspectives: spatial planning as well as regional energy policy. The project aims at increasing the capacity of regional and renewable energy planning actors by:

BEA-APP is a flagship project under the EU Strategy for the Baltic Sea Region (EUSBSR).

Total cost: 40 000 EUR (LEI part: 17 200 EUR)

Coordinator: Ministry of Energy, Infrastructure and Digitalization Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, Germany


  • Skane Association of local Authorities, Sweden
  • Region Blekinge, Sweden
  • Energy Agency for Southwest Sweden, Sweden
  • Regional Council of Central Finland, Finland
  • Tartu Regional Energy Agency, Estonia
  • Zemgale Planning Region, Latvia
  • Baltic Environmental Forum – Latvia, Latvia
  • Lithuanian Energy Institute, Lithuania
  • Regional Office for Spatial Planning of Westpomeranian Voivodeship, Poland
  • Roskilde University, Denmark