High Performance Energy Storages for Mobile and Stationary Applications: HPSMT (COST 542)

Project programme
13.07.2006 - 12.11.2010
Project status
Project table
Project website
Database link
COST actions logo

Efficient energy storage systems are essential in order to increase energy efficiency, improve economic efficiency and reduce environmental impact of mobile and stationary equipment, particularly, in modern transport and energy technologies. Current global economic and technological development has significantly increased the demand for suitable solutions for efficient and temporary energy storage of high-voltage electricity. Long-life supercapacitors are the key element in short-term energy storage systems. At the moment, available solutions related to the high-voltage accumulation are based on prism supercapacitors. However, such equipment is expensive, unreliable and unsafe. While implementation of widespread high-voltage energy storage systems based on supercapacitors using current technologies is not feasible. Alternatively, the project proposes highly reliable, strong and environmentally friendly solid high-voltage supercapacitors that are based on new materials and advanced production technology. These supercapacitors are innovative, scalable, and low-cost and satisfy the technological requirements for efficient energy storage.

LEI activities in the Project

  • To perform the effective surface area measurement of graphite substrate and NiO film deposited on the graphite substrate using absorption methods and evaluate application of such structure for production of supercapacitors.
  • To deposit nanocrystalline NiO thin films on the graphite substrates using magnetron sputtering technique.
  • Comprehensive evaluation of the system where high quality graphite (GR-280) is used as a substrate and nanocrystalline NiO thin films are used as electrochemically active substance.
  • To investigate the influence of substrates on the capacity characteristics of obtained supercapacitors.


  • To utilize existing magnetron sputtering system (PVD-75) for synthesis of nanocrystalline NiO thin films on the graphite substrates (GR-280).
  • To synthesize NiO thin films.
  • To investigate obtained films using:
  1. X-ray diffraction technique (DRON UM-1) for microstructure analysis.
  2. Scanning electron microscope (JSM 5600) and atomic force microscope (NT-206) for surface morphology analysis.
  3. Surface resistivity measurement using four-probe method (JANDEL Universal inst.).
  4. Effective surface area measurement using absorption methods.
  • To investigate electrical properties of designed capacitors.
  • To summarize the obtained results.

According to the achieved results of this research, it is expected to find cheaper substrates. Moreover, NiO thin films could be used for production of commercial supercapacitors.

Coordinator: WTTC – Werkstoffe & Technologien, Transfer & Consulting, Germany


Professor Pierre Duysinx | University of Liège
Dr. Patrick Dular | University of Liège
Professor Joeri van Mierlo | Vrije universiteit Brussel

Professor Vikenti Spassov | University of Transportation, Sofia

Czech Republic
Professor Vit Brslica | University of Defense, Brno

Professor Enn Lust

Dr. Daniel Cadet | Alstom-Transport, France
Mr. Gerard Coquery | Inrets, Arcueil, France

Dr. Dalik Sojref | WTTC, Berlin
Dr. Jean-Francois Renault | InnoFA GmbH, Berlin

Professor Socrates Kaplanis | School of Applied Technology, Patra
Dr. Nikos Sakkas | Daedalus Informatics Ltd., Athens

Dr. Abdul Ghani Olabi | School of Mechanical and Manufacturing Engineering, Dublin
Ms. Catherine Ansbro | A&M Renewables Ltd., Boyle

Mr. Marat Kapelyushnik | Hod Hasharon, Israel

Dr. Mario Conte | Italian National Agency for New Technologies, Energy and the Environment (ENEA), Rome
Professor Marina Mastragostino | Universita di Bologna, Italy

Dr. Liudas Pranevicius | Lithuanian Energy Institute, Kaunas
Dr. Darius Milcius | Lithuanian Energy Institue, Kaunas

Mr. Linards Grigans | Institute of Physical Energetics, Riga
Dr. Leonards Latkovskis | Institute of Physical Energetics, Riga

Dr. Mónica López Lorenzo | Teijin Twaron Bv, Anrhem
Dr. Wolfgang Zwilling | Teijin Twaron GmbH

Professor Boleslaw Mazurek | Electrotechnical Institue, Wroclaw
Dr. Jerzy Mukosiej | Electrotechnical Institue, Warsaw

Professor Luis Gomes | Universidade Nova de Lisboa

Dr. Paul Nicolae Borza | Siemens Program and System Engineering, Brasov
Vice Chair
Professor Doru Talaba | University Transilvania of Brasov

Dr. Jesus Sallan | CIRCE Foundation, Zaragoza

United Kingdom
Professor Peter Hall | University of Strathclyde, Glasgow
Professor Steve Tennison | MAST Carbon Technology Ltd, Guildford
Mr. Jonathan Tunbridge | MAST Carbon Technology Ltd, Guildford

Project Team

Name, surname Office phone. e-mail

LEI Representative
Darius Milčius 304-LK +37037401909 Darius.Milcius@lei.lt

Project Team
Liudas Pranevičius
Arūnas Baltušnikas 136-LK +37037401906 Arunas.Baltusnikas@lei.lt
Violeta Melinienė 303-LK +37037401991
Birutė Bobrovaitė